Skip to main content


May contain: clothing, pants, groupshot, person, adult, male, man, accessories, formal wear, and tie
Members of the Highlands Soil & Water Conservation District Supervisors are, from left: T.J. Wohl, Seat 3; Sara Sebring, Seat 5; John Causey, Seat 4; Doug Deen, Seat 1, and Steve Smith, Seat 2.

The governing body of a Soil & Water Conservation District consists of five elected supervisors.  The office of a SWCD Supervisor is non-partisan, with seats aligned with Districts of County Commissioners.  Only one Supervisor is seated for each County Commissioner District and the Supervisor must reside in the District boundaries they represent.  Candidates are elected in a general election to a four-year term with no term limitations.  Supervisors receive no monetary compensation for their public service.  A SWCD can hire employees as needed.